Home > debate, science, us society > New debate @ Liberal Forum

New debate @ Liberal Forum

October 25, 2010

*UPDATE:* Looks like the debate is over. Full breakdown of most riveting parts ;p, can be found HERE. Enjoy.

Big debate on whether or not Intelligent Design is Science… GASP! I am the poster subzer0, check it out HERE. Trust me it gets better as the pages go on.

Then discuss HERE.

Enjoy!

tharock220, on 25 October 2010 – 04:45 PM, said:

I’m going to start a little game. It’s called Restan’s Buzzword Bingo, stolen from Dilbert of course. Every time restan uses a biology buzzword(genetic, biochemistry, etc) the first person to point it out gets a point. I’ll paypal the first person to five points a $1000 check. I think I’ve demonstrated I know far more about genetics than you do. 

Joking aside, what separates you from other great apes. I’ve already asked the question but got no answer. What’s a great ape??? Can you point to a single characteristic diagnostic to them that humans don’t possess???

subzer0 response
Merely because humans possess the same characteristics as apes doesn’t mean that they are or have to be related, as I have already shown to you through convergent evolution. I have shown your taxonomy lacking from sources. Your hierarchical taxonomic system DEMANDS assumption that the only way is common ancestry.

You choose to believe it is all.

sigsfried, on 25 October 2010 – 05:36 PM, said:

What convergent evolution can explain the telomeres in the middle of the chromosome. 

Ok if you don’t believe in evolution why do genetic algorithims, which mimic evolution, work so well?

subzer0 response
Chromosomes are genetic traits. Convergent evolution is the independent appearance of the same trait in different lineages.

I believe in biological evolution to an observed limit. This includes processes/mechanisms of mutation, environmental pressures, natural selection, speciation etc that produce ONLY phenotype change.

Convergent evolution is a type of biological evolution can be called convergent phenotypes as that is the result.

