Home > christianity, exegesis, religion, us society > American Humanist Association ads part 2

American Humanist Association ads part 2

November 14, 2010

Regarding the recent AHA ads that display quotes from religious texts and then popular humanist-centric quotes. There is then a prompt to readers to; “Consider humanism”. How deliberately dishonest of an ad campaign because they fail at proper interpretation of the Bible and they fail at appropriately defining humanism as well with their bad interpretive principles. The correct reading of 1 Timothy 2:11-12 as I have already shown in the previous posts actually derives not just from it and Galatians context but there is even more context that remains consistent with the interpretation I laid out and yet again throws inconsistency at the face of AHA with their interpretation. I would like them to justify their implicit stance of the Bible being evil, and opposing woman as their website implies as well.

The other context is from Ephesians 5:28-39;

28So husbands ought also to love their own wives as their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself; 29for no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ also does the church, 30because we are members of His body.

Consider making up your own morals as a humanist in society? Or, let the framework of time tested, common sense religious text based ethics that demand high conduct stand? The choice is obvious to me.

  1. Ax
    November 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Wow. Just Wow. I’ve been following the AHA’s business for a while and the stupid only gets worse. I have always wondered whether their ads show simple stupidity or reveal ulterior motives. After this lates flood, I’m pretty sure its both. How the materialists spin loving one’s wife into sexism. They’re only getting more and more desperate. how sad

  2. Ax
    November 18, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    On a total other note, I have to say I admire how you keep up your blog with such regular updates, when I can barely keep up with current events back at mine due to an ever-busier life. Ah well, congrats and bravo!

  3. November 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I try to keep it up to date, however I have been doing research/studying for CW updates/edits. Either one of those I am usually updating on a regular basis.

    Thanks for your support bro.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
