Islam (Arabic: الإسلام, al-’islām) is a religion founded by Muhammad (Mohammed) in AD 622 during the Umayyad aristocracy (a golden age for the Islamic Ummah in which it was specifically Arab). Islam practices a theology based in the Qur’an, and an individual who follows Islam is called a Muslim. According to traditional Islamic belief, Isa or Jesus was sent by Allah to pave the road for Islam revealed to Muhammad by the angel Gabriel. Gabriel revealed Allah’s last message, the Qur’an to the utmost and final prophet, Muhammad. The word Allah (الله‎) is the name of God predominately used by Muslims and the word Islam means “submission” or total surrender to the will of Allah.

First and foremost a Muslim must practice Islam’s five pillars of faith.
1. Profession of Faith in the oneness of Allah and Muhammad being the last prophet (شهادة, Shahāda).
2. Ritual prayers (صلاة‎, Salāh).
3. Alms giving (زكاة‎, Zakāt).
4. Fasting (صوم, Sawm).
5. Pilgrimage to Mecca for those who are able (حج, Ḥajj).

%d bloggers like this: